Subscription Rates

The current subscription rates are

  • Single £25 per annum
  • Joint £35 per annum

Rates for Life Membership available upon request

Registered Charity Number 208797

Online Application Form (to join online) or download an Application Form

Existing Friends
please use this link to create a direct debit online
please use this link to download a from to create a direct debit

Contact Details


Friends Office
West Cloister


Tel: 01749 678830



The Friends' Council is the executive body responsible for the management of the Friends of Wells Cathedral. It is made up of three officers elected at an Annual General Meeting (Chairman, Treasurer and Membership Secretary), two nominees of the Cathedral Chapter and up to seven members elected at Annual General Meetings.

These are the Council members for 2023 / 2024

  • Mr Michael Hopkins, Chairman
  • Mrs Anne Paul, Treasurer
  • Mr Arnold Wills, Membership Secretary
  • Ms Maureen Boylan, Elected Member
  • Mr Paul Dickinson, Co-opted Member
  • Mr Stan Gibby, Elected Member
  • Revd Doris Goddard, Elected Member
  • Mr David Morgan-Hewitt, Chapter Nominee
  • Mr John Parsons, Co-opted Member 
  • Mr Richard Wynn-Jones, Co-opted Member
  • Vacancy, Elected Member
  • Vacancy, Chapter Nominee

Council meetings are attended by the Friends' Secretary, Mr William Newton Newey, who is also Editor of Friends Publications with Mrs Rose Longden-Phillips.  The Secretary is also responsible for the Friends' Office, the administration of the Friends and the running of the Friends with the Treasurer and Membership Secretary

The Rt Revd Dr Michael Beasley is Patron of the Friends.  

Lord Carey of Clifton, Mrs Anne Currie, Dr Robert Dunning, Lady Gass, Mrs Annie Maw and Mr Robin Duijs are Vice-Presidents of the Friends.  There is currently no President of the Friends